Archive for the ‘news’ Category

Congrats to Dr. Gregg Roman on his National Institutes of Health grant!

Posted on: July 28th, 2020 by kdbyrd

Dr. Gregg Roman has recently received a $1,028,083 grant from the National Institutes of Health as part of the GlyCORE: Glycoscience Center of Research Excellence COBRE grant awarded to the School of Pharmacy.  This grant will expand the capabilities of the imaging core by adding a new powerful computer workstation for analysis of collected images and by hiring a full-time core manager.  Students and researchers will benefit from this expansion.

Click here to read the article.

“Dr. Tamar L. Goulet Explores Mutualism on Coral Reefs and Throughout our Complex Planet”

Posted on: June 25th, 2020 by kdbyrd

Marine Biologist Dr. Tamar Goulet is featured on the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) website.

Click here to read the article.







Congrats to Dr. Patrick Curtis on your new grant!!!

Posted on: June 19th, 2020 by kdbyrd

This new grant is to study the Caulobacter crescentus pilus. Pili are cell structures bacteria use to attach to surfaces, as well as perform other functions. The C. crescentus pilus is a rare sub-type that has hardly been studied, and there are a couple unusual facets to it that we and others have uncovered. The grant will focus on two of these. First is the regulation of the pilA gene, which encodes the subunit that makes up the pilus filament. Our data suggests that this gene may use a completely novel regulatory mechanism, and we aim to understand that mechanism. The second part explores how the pilus becomes localized to the cell pole, something we know little about, and may be tied to the localization of developmental signaling proteins.

Dr. Wayne Gray offers some insights that may help the public understand the COVID-19 pandemic

Posted on: May 20th, 2020 by kdbyrd

Dr. Wayne Gray, a virologist in the with more than 40 years’ experience studying viruses, is offering some insights that may help the public understand the COVID-19 pandemic.

Click here to read the full article.








Congrats to our newest M.S. and Ph.D. Graduates!!

Posted on: May 8th, 2020 by kdbyrd

Pictured left to right:
Reed Scott, M.S.
Brooke Sykes, M.S.
Sarah Amonett, M.S.
Sarah McNamara, M.S.
Maya Kaup, M.S.
Kevin Potts, M.S.
Chaz Hyseni, Ph.D.

Congrats to the advisors of our new graduates: Dr. William Resetarits, Dr. Susan Balenger, Dr. Erik Hom, Dr. Ryan Garrick.

How did we take these pictures while maintaining social distancing? Well, thanks to the photo-editing skills of Brooke Sykes, MS 2020, we took photographs of each graduate separately and then carefully edited them together. We even did a masked version…just to be safe!

Our graduating students couldn’t resist one last, socially distanced, trip to our Biology tailgating spot near Shoemaker Hall.





6th Annual Neuroscience Research Showcase WINNERS!!!

Posted on: April 23rd, 2020 by kdbyrd

CONGRATULATIONS to the following winners of the poster competition for the 6th annual Neuroscience Research Showcase!!


Graduate Student Winners:

1st Place: Alaa N. Qrareya, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Advisor: Jason Paris.
“HIV-1 Tat Promotes Age-Related Cognitive, Anxiety-like, and Antinociceptive Impairments in Mice that are Moderated by Aging Endocrine Status .”

Honorable Mention: Salahuddin Mohammed, Pharmacology, Advisor: Jason Paris.
“HIV-1 Tat Dysregulates the Hypothalamic-Pituitary-Adrenal Stress Axis and Potentiates Oxycodone-mediated Psychomotor and Anxiety-like Behavior of Male Mice”.


Undergraduate Student Winners:

1st Place (2nd Year in a row!): Nikki Sullivan, Biology Major with Neuroscience & Chemistry minors, Advisor: Alberto del Arco.
“Effects of repeated intermittent episodes of social stress on the acquisition and extinction of a reward-seeking task.”

2nd Place: Zahra Jiwani, Catherine Kania, and Perry Mullins, Biology Majors with Neuroscience minor (ZJ), Advisor: Lainy Day.
“Exploration of cerebellar function in Taeniopygia guttata using spatial maze and log roll.”

Honorable Mention: Luke Nguyen, Biochemistry Major, Advisor: Lainy Day.
“Novel understanding of avian biomechanics and sonations usinghigh-speed video of the white-ruffed manakin (Corapipo altera altera).”


Despite a global pandemic, we carried on online and had 13 presenters and 11 separate posters. Posters with citation details and filmed zoom presentations will soon be up on eGrove, details to follow!

Special thanks for our judges: Tossi Ikuta, Nicole Ashpole, Jason Paris, Carolyn Higdon, Kristie Willett, Xin Ye, and Robert Doerksen

Congrats Dr. Tammy Goulet on becoming an ICRS Fellow!!

Posted on: March 31st, 2020 by kdbyrd

Dr. Tammy Goulet has been selected as an International Coral Reef Society (ICRS) Fellow.

She was unanimously selected in recognition of her scientific achievement and her service to the Society. This award is a “for life” award while maintaining her ICRS membership. She will receive a certificate as well as invited to participate in selecting new fellows.


Congrats graduate students on receiving scholarships!!

Posted on: March 20th, 2020 by kdbyrd

CONGRATULATIONS to these graduate students on receiving scholarships!!!

•Anita Shrestha – The Doctors Wong-Bridges Scholarship Graduate Student Award
•Jalen Holloway – McRight Biology Scholarship
•Eric Weingarten – Steve and Mary Ann Cockerham
•Abhishesh Bajracharya – McRight Biology Scholarship

Scientific society names award after Biology professor

Posted on: November 21st, 2019 by kdbyrd

The Animal Behavior Society Conservation Committee has established the Richard Buchholz Conservation Behavior Award.  This award ​is named after Dr. Richard Buchholz ​to honor his foundational and continuing work in integrating the fields of animal behavior and conservation biology. ​The award will be given annually starting in 2020.

Want to know more about conservation behavior? Click here.

The Bloomekatz laboratory contributes to a recently published paper

Posted on: October 28th, 2019 by kdbyrd

The Bloomekatz laboratory contributes to a recently published paper in Developmental Cell on the signals that regulate the formation of specialized pacemaker cells, which regulate the speed and rhythmicity of the heart.

You can read a summary of the paper here.

And access the full paper here.