Faculty

Department Chair

Dr. Gregg Roman1
Gregg Roman

Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Office: 214 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7203
groman@olemiss.edu

Tenured and Tenure-track Faculty

Susan Balenger1
Susan Balenger

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Auburn University
Office: 322 Shoemaker
662-915-5804
balenger@olemiss.edu

Josh Bloomekatz

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences
Office: 208 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-3072
josh@olemiss.edu

Stephen Brewer1
Stephen Brewer

Professor
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
Office: 412 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1077
jbrewer@olemiss.edu

Richard Buchholz1Richard Buchholz

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida
Office: 104 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5012
byrb@olemiss.edu

Patrick Curtis1
Patrick Curtis

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: 402 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1911
pdcurtis@olemiss.edu

Lainy Day1
Elaine Day

Associate Professor and Neuroscience Minor Director
Ph.D., University of Texas
Office: 512 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5444
lainyday@olemiss.edu

Ryan Garrick1
Ryan Garrick

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., La Trobe University
Office: 508 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-2341
rgarrick@olemiss.edu

Tammy Goulet1
Tamar Goulet

Professor
Ph.D., State University of New York – Buffalo
Office: 524 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7457
tlgoulet@olemiss.edu

Jason Hoeksema1
Jason Hoeksema

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Office: 318 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1275
hoeksema@olemiss.edu

Marjorie Holland1
Marjorie Holland

Professor
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Office: 430 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5874  
mholland@olemiss.edu

erik hom1
Erik Hom

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Office: 322 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1731
erik@olemiss.edu

colin jackson1
Colin Jackson

Associate Professor, Associate Chair, and Graduate Program Coordinator
Ph.D., The University of Alabama
Office: 506 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7495
cjackson@olemiss.edu

Mika Jekabsons1
Mika Jekabsons

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Office: 110 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-3998
jekabson@olemiss.edu

Brad Jones1
Bradley Jones

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Yale University
Office: 122 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1700
jonesbw@olemiss.edu

Chris Leary1
Christopher Leary

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Office: 424 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1087
cjleary@olemiss.edu


Sarah Liljegren

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
Office: 118 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1409
liljegren@olemiss.edu

Brice Noonan1
Brice Noonan

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Arlington
Office: 502 Shoemaker
662-915-6705
bnoonan@olemiss.edu

Cliff Ochs1
Clifford Ochs

Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
Office: 332 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7562
 byochs@olemiss.edu

Glenn Parsons1
Glenn R. Parsons

Professor
Ph.D., University of South Florida
Office: 120 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7479
 bygrp@olemiss.edu

Bill Resetarits1
William Resetarits

Professor and Doherty Chair of Freshwater Biology
Ph.D., Duke University
Office: 322 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5804
wresetar@olemiss.edu


Peter Zee

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
Office: 406 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-3071
zee@olemiss.edu

Lecturers and Instructors

tiffany bensen1
Tiffany Bensen

Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Office: 320 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-2089
tabensen@olemiss.edu

Carol Britson1
Carol A. Britson

Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Office: 206 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7988
cbritson@olemiss.edu


Carla Carr1Carla Carr

Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of North Texas
Office: 422 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-2153
cbcarr@olemiss.edu

Carol Cleveland1
Carol Cleveland

Instructor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi
Office: meetings by appointment
662-612-0499
bycmc@olemiss.edu

Clinton Copp1
Clinton Copp

Instructor
M.S., Western Kentucky University
Office: 311 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-2311
ccopp@olemiss.edu

Robert Doctor1
Brian Doctor

Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., Duke University
Office: 414 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1390
rbdoctor@olemiss.edu

Wayne GrayWayne Gray1

Director of Health Professions Advising and Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University South Alabama Medical School
Office: 310 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1923
wlgray@olemiss.edu

denis goulet1
Denis Goulet

Instructional Professor and Coordinator of Laboratory Programs
Ph.D., University of Puerto Rico
Office: 204 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7213
dgoulet@olemiss.edu

Evelyn Jackson1
Evelyn Jackson

Instructor
M.S., University of Alabama
Office: 228 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1580
ejackson@olemiss.edu


Eden Johnson

Instructor
M.S., University of Missouri-Columbia
Office: 316 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-3070
eajohns8@olemiss.edu

Nicole Lewis1
Nicole Lewis

Instructor
M.S., The University of Mississippi
Office: 309 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1648
nalewis@olemiss.edu

Lucile McCook1
Lucile McCook

Instructional Professor and Curator Pullen Herbarium
Ph.D., Cornell University
Office: 407B Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5488
bymccook@olemiss.edu


Linda Mota

Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Clemson University
Office: 523A Shoemaker Hall
662-915-2002
lcmota@olemiss.edu

Gail Stratton1Gail Stratton
Instructional Professor
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Office: 422 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5786
byges@olemiss.edu

Rebecca Symula1
Rebecca Symula

Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Office: 202 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-2709
resymula@olemiss.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Gary Gaston1
Gary Gaston

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., College of William and Mary
Office: 214 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7203
bygaston@olemiss.edu

Edmund Keiser1


Edmund Keiser

Chair Emeritus and Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
Office: 214 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7203
bykeiser@olemiss.edu

Stephen Threlkeld1
Stephen Threlkeld

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Office: 214 Shoemaker
662-915-7203
 stt@olemiss.edu

 

Paul Lago1

Paul K. Lago

Chair Emeritus and Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., North Dakota State University
Office: 214 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7203
plago@olemiss.edu

 

Bailey Ward1


Bailey Ward

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Office: 214 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7203